Prof. G.O. Egharevba

EGHAREVBA Gabriel O., PhD.

Rank: Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, Department of Chemistry

Office: Room 219 (Second Floor, White house), Department of Chemistry, OAU, Ile-Ife.


Scholar link:


Gabriel Egharevba obtained his academic degrees as follows: B.Sc Chemistry (Lagos) in 1976, M.Sc Chemistry (Ife) in 1980, Ph.D Chemistry (New Brunswick) in 1986. In addition, he also has an MBA(Ife) in 1995. Prof. Egharevba joined the services of the Department of Chemistry, University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), Ile-Ife, in 1978 and rose through the ranks to become a Professor in 2009. He has been involved in several administrative roles in the Department and was the Ag. Head, Department of Chemistry, 2010-2012. He served as Ag. Dean of Students’ Affairs for the University, 1995-1996 and also Chairman, OAU Sports Council, 2006-2009.

Prof. Egharevba has serves either as sole or co-supervisor of eight (8) students at masters level and six (6) PhD holders. He is a member of several professional bodies and a Fellow of the Chemical Society of Nigeria. He is the current Chairman of the Osun state chapter of the Chemical Society of Nigeria.

Specialization: Inorganic/Organometallic, Coordination Chemistry, Materials Science including thin films and Nano materials

Research Work: Our group has been involved in synthetic work in inorganic, organometallic and coordination compounds with various possible applications. We are also preparing and characterizing oxide and sulphide thin films from single source precursors. These films can be used in electronic devices etc. Recently we have studied porphyrins and their nano structures.

(i) Hexakis(m3-thio)pentakis[(h5-cyclopentadienyl)titanium,((h5-C5H5)5Ti5(m3-S)6) Preparation and Molecular and Electronic Structure: F. Bottomley, G.O. Egharevba, and P.S. White, J. Am. Chem. Soc. (1985) 107, 4353 – 4354.           

 (ii) Reactions of Bis(cyclopentadienyl)- and Bis (pentamethylcyclopentadienyl) titanium and Bis(cyclopentadienyl)- and Bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl) zirconium Dicarbonyls with Water and Dihydrogen Sulfide: Evolution of Dihydrogen and Formation of Oxo or Sulfido Monomers, Dimmers, or Clusters: F. Bottomley, D.D. Drummond, G.O. Egharevba and P.S. White, Organometallics (1986)  5, 1620-1625.

(iii) Reactions of Bis(cyclopentadienyl) – and Bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl) titanium and Bis(cyclopentadienyl)- and Bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl) zirconium Dicarbonyls with Dihydrogen Selenide: Evolution of Dihydrogen and         Formation of Hydroselenides and Selenides. Comparison With Analogous Reactions of Dihydrogen Sulfide and Oxide. F. Bottomley, T.T. Chin, G.O. Egharevba, L.M. Kane, D.A. Pataki and P.S. White. Organometallics (1988) 7, 1214-1221.

(iv) Electrostatic Self-assembly of Quaternized 2, (3)-tetra (oxo-pyridine) phthalocyaninato chloroindium(III) with a Series of Tetrasulfonated PhthalocyaninesR.C. George, M. Durmuş, G.O. Egharevba and  T. Nyokong. Polyhedron  (2009) 28, 3621-3627.

(v) Spectroscopic studies of nanostructures of negatively charged free base Porphyrin and positively charged tin Porphyrins. C. George, G.O. Egharevba and T. Nyokong.  Polyhedron  (2010) 29, 1469-1474.

(vi) Porphyrin Nanorods Modified Glassy Carbon Electrode for the Electrocatalysis of Dioxygen, Methanol and Hydrazine. R. C. George, T. Mugadza,  Khene, G O. Egharevba and  T. Nyokong.   Electroanalysis, (2011), 23 1699-1708.

(vii) Effect of Deposition Temperature on some Properties of MOCVD Molybdenum Sulphide Thin Films. B. Olofinjana, G.O. Egharevba, B.A., Taleatu, O.O. Akinwunmi and E.O.B. Ajayi. J. Mater. Sc. and Engineering (2014), B4(4), 78-85.

(viii) Crystal Structure of tricarbonyltrispyridylrhenium(I) tetrafluoroborate. Adebomi A Ikotun, Michael P. Coogan, Abimbola A. Owoseni, Nattmai Bhuvanesh and G.O. Egharevba Acta Cryst. (2015) E71, m106-m107(International Union of  Crystallography, U.K.)